February 26, 2008 11:31 AM

Bob Osborne Named WYPALL* Wipers “Crew Chief the Race” in California

Roswell, GA (Feb., 26, 2008) – Bob Osborne, crew chief of the No. 99 DISH Network/Office Depot Ford Fusion driven by Carl Edwards, was named “Crew Chief of the Race” Monday in Fontana, California for his team’s win in the Auto Club 500.  Bob, who is a 2008 WYPALL Wipers crew chief representative, made the WYPALL brand proud Monday leading his team to a dominant win in the rain delayed two-day affair.  Osborne will receive a $1,000 check as a result of his leadership and strategic thinking during the race.

Sunday’s effort to get the Auto Club 500 completed was thwarted late in the evening when rain returned to the two-mile oval, halting any chance at a conclusion to the race.  NASCAR chose to postpone the race until Monday where Osborne and Edwards worked to make their car better and better on the sun soaked track.  Edwards took over the lead from Jimmie Johnson with 13 laps to go and never looked back in rout to his first win of the season.

Osborne, Edwards and the No. 99 team continue to be a formidable threat to win every week, amassing their eighth win in three years together in the NASCAR Sprint Cup series.  Bob and his team use WYPALL Wipers to help improve their performance and keep their Roush-Fenway Racing Ford performing at its top level.  “I am excited to be the WYPALL Wipers ‘Crew Chief of the Race’ once again and really proud to be part of the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Team in 2008,” Osborne said after his team’s victory Monday.  “Every Crew Chief in the garage wants to win the WYPALL Wipers ‘Crew Chief of the Race’ award because its voted on by his peers and that’s what makes it so special.”

The 2008 WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge is a season-long contest that will determine the best crew chiefs in the NASCAR Sprint Cup garage.  Following each Cup race, a panel will vote to determine which crew chief demonstrated the most outstanding strategy and leadership during the race.  It isn’t necessarily the crew chief that goes to victory lane, but the crew chief that made the biggest difference to his team.

Representatives from WYPALL Wipers, together with FOX/Speed television analyst Jeff Hammond, and three of NASCAR’s top crew chiefs who represent WYPALL, including Todd Berrier of the Richard Childress Racing No.29 Shell Pennzoil Chevy team, Bob Osborne of the Roush Fenway Racing No.99 Office Depot Ford team, and Kenny Francis of the Gillett Evernham Motorsports No.9 Budweiser Dodge team, make up the panel of judges.

In addition to the $1,000 check, the winning crew chief will receive signage to announce the win on their pit box the following week. The crew chief with the most weekly top wins will be honored as the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Year and will be presented a $20,000 check at the season finale in Homestead, FL.

“The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge spotlights the crew chief’s efforts to get his team in Victory Lane,” said Tom Merrill, Category Manager for WYPALL Wipers.  “WYPALL Wipers and crew chiefs are a natural fit. Crew chiefs only want to use reliable products on their cars and engines.  That’s why they choose WYPALL Wipers. Our products are used to wipe up the toughest, most stubborn messes, and we want to focus on the men who put WYPALL Wipers to use each week.  That’s why we continue to show our appreciation to the crew chiefs.”

About WYPALL* Wipers

WYPALL is a brand of Kimberly-Clark Professional. Since 2004, WYPALL Wipers has been affiliated with some of racing’s top teams.  Offering heavy-duty to versatile light-duty towels, WYPALL Wipers provides race teams with a number of products providing strength and durability.  Defeating the toughest of challenges, from absorbing tough grease and oil to wiping down windshields without leaving residue behind, WYPALL Wipers continue to offer performance and versatility.

The WYPALL Wipers Chief Challenge will continue throughout the remainder of the 2008 season and spotlight the men behind the machines.  For more information, log onto

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved