September 24, 2008 11:49 AM

Bolin Named the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race in Dover

ROSWELL, Ga. (September 24, 2008) -- Chip Bolin, crew chief of the No. 17 DeWalt Ford driven by Matt Kenseth, has been named the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Race following Sunday’s Camping World RV 400 at Dover International Speedway.

After starting 8th at the “Monster Mile”, Kenseth finished second after a late race spirited battle with eventual winner and teammate, Greg Biffle.  Kenseth ran in the top-five virtually the entire race.

After reporting a loose car, Bolin called his driver to pit road for the first time on lap 63.  Bolin and crew executed a speedy stop, returning Kenseth to the track as the race leader and held the lead until lap 190.  Kenseth climbed back into the top three by lap 309 where he continued to battle Biffle for first place. 

Biffle passed Kenseth for the lead with 8 laps to go.  “We’ve dug ourselves out of a hole after these past couple of races, so this was a fun race,” said Kenseth, who finished a disappointing 40th in New Hampshire to begin the Chase last week.  “We were really solid on pit road all day and made some good adjustments.”

“Bolin and his team came to Dover prepared to deliver with a strong car, turning in a stellar performance following last week’s run,” said Jeff Hammond, FOX Sports analyst and WYPALL* Wipers spokesman. “They deserve this recognition.”

The 2008 WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge is a season-long contest that will determine the best crew chiefs in the NASCAR Sprint Cup garage.  Following each race, a panel will vote to determine which crew chief demonstrated the most outstanding strategy and leadership during the race.  It isn’t necessarily the crew chief that goes to Victory Lane, but the crew chief that makes the biggest difference for his team.

Representatives from WYPALL Wipers, together with Jeff Hammond, and three of NASCAR’s top crew chiefs who represent WYPALL, including Todd Berrier of Richard Childress Racing’s No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil Chevy team, Bob Osborne of Roush Fenway Racing’s No. 99 Office Depot Ford team, and Kenny Francis of Gillett Evernham Motorsports’ No. 9 Budweiser Dodge team, make up the panel of judges.

In addition to the $1,000 check, the winning crew chief will receive signage to announce the win on their pit box the following week. The crew chief with the most weekly top wins will be honored as the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Year and will be presented a $20,000 check at the season finale in Homestead, Fla.

“The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge spotlights the crew chief’s efforts to get his team in Victory Lane,” said Tom Merrill, Category Manager for WYPALL Wipers.  “WYPALL Wipers and crew chiefs are a natural fit. Crew chiefs only want to use reliable products on their cars and engines.  That’s why they choose WYPALL Wipers. Our products are used to wipe up the toughest, most stubborn messes, and we want to focus on the men who put WYPALL Wipers to use each week.  That’s why we continue to show our appreciation to the crew chiefs.”

About WYPALL* Wipers

WYPALL is a brand of Kimberly-Clark Professional. Since 2004, WYPALL Wipers has been affiliated with some of racing’s top teams.  Offering heavy-duty to versatile light-duty towels, WYPALL Wipers provides race teams with a number of products providing strength and durability.  Defeating the toughest of challenges, from absorbing tough grease and oil to wiping down windshields without leaving residue behind, WYPALL Wipers continue to offer performance and versatility.

The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge will continue throughout the remainder of the 2008 season and spotlight the men behind the machines.  For more information, log onto


Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved