July 8, 2008 10:26 PM

Bolin Wins Wypall Crew Chief of the Race Award

Chip Bolin, crew chief for the No. 17 Roush Fenway Racing team of driver Matt Kenseth, has been named the Wypall Wipers crew chief of the race for Saturday night's Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway.
Kenseth rallied late and gained ground on pit stops to finish fourth in the race, a career-best finish for the team at Daytona.
“It’s our job to make sure the car is set up just right, to make the right calls in the pits and to make sure we have flawless pit stops all night to get Matt track position,” Bolin said.
The 2008 Wypall Wipers Crew Chief Challenge is a season-long contest to determine the best crew chiefs in the NASCAR Sprint Cup garage. Following each race, a panel will vote to determine which crew chief demonstrated the most outstanding strategy and leadership during the race. The winner isn’t necessarily the crew chief who goes to victory lane, but the crew chief who makes the biggest difference for his team.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved