January 27, 2009 9:39 AM

Braun’s Team Forced to Retire From Rolex 24 at Daytona Short of Halfway

(CONCORD, N.C.) --  Colin Braun had high expectations heading into his fifth consecutive Rolex 24 At Daytona.  Running for Michael Shank Racing with a strong line-up of teammates, Braun felt this would be his best chance of capturing the elusive win in one of the most demanding races on drivers and equipment.
Boasting the same technical Ford-Riley package that powered the Michael Shank team to victory lane last season, the aim was clear for the season-opening enduro at Daytona—to return to the Rolex 24 podium once again.  This time Braun wanted to be one of the four drivers on the podium.
But after getting off to a strong start, that ambition had to be postponed one year as both team machines were unable to finish the race after being sidelined by a sensor failure in the drivetrain.  Even for a team that has demonstrated remarkable comebacks in previous examples of the grueling endurance test, the setback proved to be too much to overcome as both team entries were retired.
Deepening the disappointment was the fact that the early race performance confirmed the team’s high hopes for the event.  The No. 6 was in the lead at the time of the problem some five hours into the race, with the No. 60 (Braun’s team) still running on the lead lap in fourth position as the race neared the nine-hour mark.  Braun was able to drive one two-hour stretch before the car was retired.
“This race was a lot like last year--we had a strong car, a fast pace and a good line up but something out of our control knocked us out,” said Braun.  “But this was out of our hands. We were in great shape, just doing the laps and being on the pace and the car was great, but that’s racing. Now I'll look forward to getting back here to Daytona in the Con-Way Freight Ford F-150!”

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is NASCAR’s largest team operating nine motorsports teams.  Five in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with drivers Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards and David Ragan; three in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Colin Braun; and one in the Camping World Truck Series with Braun. 

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved