November 20, 2008 2:53 PM

Colin Braun Clinches the 2008 Raybestos Rookie Title

CONCORD, N.C. --  Colin Braun achieved one of his biggest goals for the 2008 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season, winning the Raybestos Rookie Of The Year award.  Braun became the sixth Roush Fenway Racing driver to win the title in the truck series, and the 11th Roush Fenway Racing driver to win in one of the three premiere NASCAR series.
“It’s obviously a great honor to win the rookie title,” Braun said.  “That was obviously a goal when we started the season so it’s good to get that.  The Con-way Freight team did a great job all year and I feel like they really deserve it.
“If you look back at the history of Roush Fenway Racing, I think Jack (Roush) has won this award almost every time he’s tried.  It’s really cool to follow in those guys’ footsteps.  Carl Edwards (2003) and Greg Biffle (1998) have both won the rookie title in the truck series, so I’m excited to be in the same category with them. 
“I learned a lot this year, and I think the biggest thing is just racing with the veteran drivers and trying to earn their respect.  It’s important to race them hard, but also race them smart and patient.  I think that was the thing I really struggled with at the start of the year.  I tried to work on that towards the end of the season and hopefully got better at it.”
Braun ended the season with three top-five and eight top-10 finishes in 25 starts.  He led eight laps, completed 91 percent of the laps run (3,714 of 4,082) and finished the season 13th in the driver point standings.
“I’m just really looking forward to next year and having a new, fresh start with a brand new fleet of trucks and going after another title – the 2009 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship.”     

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing operates 13 full-time motorsports teams, five in NASCAR Sprint Cup with drivers Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards and David Ragan; four in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell and Colin Braun; three in the Craftsman Truck Series with Darnell, Braun, Travis Kvapil, Bobby East and John Wes Townley; and one in the ARCA RE/MAX Series with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved