January 7, 2009 4:40 PM

Colin Braun to Compete in the Rolex 24 at Daytona

CONCORD, N.C. --  For the fifth-consecutive year Colin Braun will compete in the Rolex 24 at Daytona on January 24-25.  The Roush Fenway Racing driver will run the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ford-Riley along with full-season pilots Mark Patterson and Oswaldo Negri, as well as the 2008 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year Ryan Hunter-Reay.  The teammates will compete in the Daytona Prototype division.

“I’m excited to be running for Michael Shank Racing,” said Braun, driver of the No. 6 Con-Way Freight Ford F-150 in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.  “I raced against them a bunch when I was driving for Krohn Racing and AIM Autosport last year and I’ve seen how strong their preparation is and how quick their cars can be. They’ve also had really good driver line-ups so I’m very excited to be a part of this team for the 24-hour race. I feel like we have a great shot at winning the race because this is a group of smart, fast drivers. Mike Shank has put a great program together with these Ford motors and with the experience and speed that this line up has, hopefully we can make the most of this opportunity, and I am looking forward to starting 2009 off on the right foot there at the 24.”

Despite having scored rookie accolades last season in their respective series, both Braun and Hunter-Reay can boast extensive experience in Daytona Prototypes.  Braun set a record as the youngest Daytona Prototype winner with his victory in the Brumos 250 at Daytona at the age of 17 in 2006.  Hunter-Reay drove to a convincing victory at Miller Motorsports Park in 2007.

The Rolex 24 at Daytona will have extensive television coverage throughout the race.  For the third straight year, FOX Sports will once again televise the start of the Rolex 24 with a half-hour pre-race show followed by coverage of the first hour of the race. SPEED Channel will pick up coverage of the Rolex 24 in the second hour.  The race begins at 3:30 p.m. (EST) on Saturday, January 24.

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is NASCAR’s largest team operating 10 full-time motorsports teams; five in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with drivers Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards, Jamie McMurray and David Ragan; four in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell, Colin Braun and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.; and one team in the Camping World Truck Series with Braun.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved