October 8, 2008 5:16 PM

Jamie McMurray to Pilot No. 09 Zaxby’s Ford F-150 at Martinsville

CONCORD, N.C. --  Roush Fenway Racing announced today that NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Jamie McMurray will compete in the No. 09 Zaxby’s Ford F-150 in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday, October 18.   McMurray has 24 starts in the truck series, with one win, three top-five finishes, six top-10 finishes and three poles.  McMurray’s win in the truck series came at Martinsville Speedway in 2004.

“I'm really excited to race the No. 09 Zaxby's Ford F-150 next weekend at Martinsville,” McMurray said.  “For the last few years, I've been asking Jack to put me in the truck for this race.  Martinsville is one of my favorite tracks on the circuit and to be able to get into the truck next weekend will be a lot of fun.  The last time I was in a truck was back in 2004 at Martinsville and we won the race, so I'm really looking forward to next weekend.”

The Kroger 200 will be McMurray’s first start in a Roush Fenway Racing Ford F-150 in the truck series.  This race reunites McMurray with crew chief Chad Norris, with whom McMurray worked in 2006 when Norris was car chief on the No. 26 Crown Royal Ford Fusion in the Sprint Cup Series.  Norris was also a crew chief for McMurray in 12 Nationwide races in 2007.

“I’m looking forward to working with Jamie again at Martinsville,” Norris said.  “We had some strong runs together in 2006 and last year in the Nationwide Series, but were never able to get a win.  Hopefully this will be our shot at Victory Lane.”

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing operates 13 full-time motorsports teams, five in NASCAR Sprint Cup with drivers Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards and David Ragan; four in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell and Colin Braun; three in the Craftsman Truck Series with Darnell, Braun, Travis Kvapil, Bobby East and John Wes Townley; and one in the ARCA RE/MAX Series with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved