October 21, 2012 7:06 PM

Kenseth Gives Roush Fenway Kansas Sweep; Scores Second Chase Win

Kansas City, Kan. (Oct. 21, 2012) – Matt Kenseth dominated the later moments of Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway to give Roush Fenway the weekend sweep at the newly-paved 1.5-mile track; RFR’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won the Nationwide race at Kansas on Saturday.

“It (the win) really means a lot,” said an emotional Kenseth in victory lane. “I have to thank God for all of the opportunities and guidance. I (also) want to thank Jack Roush, Robbie Reiser and Mark Martin; without those guys I would have never been at Roush Fenway Racing.”

Kenseth was fast on the day, leading a race-high 77 laps and driving his No. 17 Zest Ford away from the field during the final 20 laps of the race. For Kenseth it was his third win of the season and his second in the 2012 Chase for the Sprint Cup. It is his 24th career Sprint Cup victory.

The win marks Roush Fenway Racing’s 311th NASCAR victory, with 130 coming in the Sprint Cup Series. It is RFR’s fourth Sprint Cup Series win at Kansas and it’s ninth overall win at the track. Kenseth becomes the eighth Roush Fenway driver to win at Kansas.

Greg Biffle was fast in the race as well, but suffered a 27th-place finish after a spin midway through the race. Carl Edwards finished 14th in the event.

Roush Fenway and the Sprint Cup Series return to action next weekend at Martinsville Speedway, where the team has won four times in Sprint Cup action.

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering motorsport’s first team-focused TV program and its award-winning social marketing campaign Visit, circle on Google+ at +Roush Fenway Racing, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved