News

April 5, 2009 10:44 PM

Kenseth Turns in Top Qualifying Performance of the Season, Will Start Third at Texas

Ft. Worth, Texas (April 3, 2009) – Matt Kenseth turned in a lap of 28.428 (189.954 mph) around the 1.5-mile quad oval of Texas Motor Speedway to earn his top qualifying spot of the 2009 season. Kenseth will start third - inside of row two - for Sunday’s Samsung 500.

“That was as surprising lap to say the least,” said Kenseth in the post qualifying press conference after the race. “I think we were about 34th in practice and we just couldn’t get the car faster. The guys changed just a few little things, but these cars are so sensitive it can make a big difference.

“It was a good qualifying lap,” added Kenseth. “I was able to be aggressive going into (turn) one and got into there really fast. I probably took it a little easier going into (turn) three, and that might have cost us some time. But, overall was really happy with the lap and the job the DEWALT team did getting the car ready for qualifying and finding that speed in between practice and qualifying.

“We are pretty happy starting that close to the front on Sunday.”

Kenseth, who finished with the 34th fastest lap in the morning session, picked up over three-miles per hour on his qualifying lap.

The No. 17 DEWALT team will continue to work with the car on Saturday during two more practice sessions in preparation for Sunday’s race.

The race will be televised live on FOX Network and is set for 1 p.m. CST (2 p.m. EST) with the prerace set to begin at 12:30 p.m. CST (1:30 p.m. EST).

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved