May 2, 2008 6:14 PM

Manchester Wins Close Battle at Red River Speedway in Texas

Concord, N.C. (April 30, 2008) – It’s been a few weeks since we first reported that several members of the No. 16 3M team would be racing at Red River Speedway in Wichita Falls, Texas but due to the number of inquiries it seemed necessary to update the team’s fan base with the results of the fastest race in Texas. 

On a crisp Saturday night in Central Texas, 10 cars started the race but only six would finish.  Billy Manchester, shock specialist for the team, started third but tangled with Glen Waldron for the lead and was shuffled to the back.  A few laps later he made a critical pass on crew chief Greg Erwin under caution.  Somewhere around lap five the hatchback on Manchester’s lime green Ford Escort went up and from that point on, he was unstoppable.  Coming off of turn four on the final lap of the race, he edged by local track legend and team mechanic Ryan Dextraze for the win.

“It was a last lap pass,” said Manchester. “I held it wide open on the last lap.  We had a lot of fun and hopefully they’ll have us back next year.  Dex had the car to beat.  Ben Beshore was pretty fast too.  I’d like to that the track for putting it on and Dex for setting it up.  It was pretty cool that Biffle came out there too.”

Greg Biffle, driver of the No. 16 3M Ford Fusion was on hand for the photo finish and had these remarks following the race.

“I’m glad I wasn’t out there,” said Biffle.  “Billy raced a hard race and I’m not sure if the open hatchback gave him an aerodynamic advantage or not but he was on fire after that thing opened.  Bobby was on fire too but there was actually smoke and he had to get out of the car.  Seriously though, it was cool to get to come out here and watch these guys race and have a good time away from work.”

Unofficial Finishing Order:
1. Billy Manchester
2. Ryan Dextraze
3. Glen Waldron
4. Greg Erwin
5. Will Smith
6. Bobby Bakeeff (engine)*
7. Brian Bottlemy (engine)
8. Ben Beshore  (engine)
9. Colin Pasi  (accident)
10. Joe Smith  (accident)
*Finished in his backup car.

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is NASCAR’s largest team operating 13 motorsports teams.  Five in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with drivers Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards and David Ragan; four in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell and Colin Braun; and three in the Craftsman Truck Series with Darnell, Braun, Kvapil, John Wes Townley and Bobby East; and one in the ARCA RE/MAX Series with Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved