May 16, 2012 4:51 PM

No. 99 “Blue Team” Looks for a Win in the Sprint Pit Crew Challenge

Concord, N.C. (May 16, 2012) – During every NASCAR Sprint Cup race there is a group of crew members from each team who have what it takes to jump in front of a 3450-pound car and service it in 13 seconds.  Thursday evening, May 17, the spotlight is focused on these crew members at the Sprint Pit Crew Challenge at Time Warner Cable Arena in downtown Charlotte, N.C.

Carl Edwards’ pit crew, known as the Fastenal “Blue Team,” will face off against 23 teams to determine the best of the best not only as a team, but measuring the strength and skills of individual competitors as well.

Meet the over-the-wall members of the 2012 Blue Team:


Name                                     Duties                                       Hometown

Joe Karasinski                      Gas man                                   Spotswood, N.J.

Dennis Killian                        Jack man                                  Wentzville, Mo.      

Mike Lingerfelt                       Front tire changer                   Travelers Rest, S.C.

Josh Shipplett                        Rear tire carrier                       Winder, Ga.

Alan Troutman                       Front tire carrier                       China Grove, N.C.

Kale Uphoff                            Rear tire changer                     McFarland, Wisc.


“The guys work really hard practicing at the shop and we’re glad to represent the team and our sponsors,” said Andy Ward, pit crew coach for Roush Fenway Racing.  “We’re excited to celebrate the opportunity to be all stars for the night and have some fun.  We love to compete, it’s why we do what we do and these guys earned the opportunity to be here.  The guys also have a chance to win some personal accolades which is hard to come by in this business.”

The Sprint Pit Crew Challenge begins at 7pm ET tomorrow.  Tickets start at $15 and can be purchased online at or by calling Time Warner Cable Arena box office at (800) 745-3000.  Television coverage is on SPEED starting at 8pm ET. 

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering its exclusive Roush Fenway OnTrack sponsorship measurement services, motorsport’s first team-focused TV show and its award-winning social marketing channel Visit, circle on Google+ at +Roush Fenway Racing, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway. For sponsorship inquiries call John Bauersfeld at 704.720.4621.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved