October 26, 2012 11:25 AM

RFR Milestone Dates Back to February 14, 1988

Concord, N.C. (Oct. 26, 2012) – Roush Fenway Racing will make its historic 3000th Sprint Cup start this weekend when the series rolls into Martinsville Speedway. The organization, which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, enters the weekend with 2,999 Cup starts. The milestone accomplishment dates back to February 14, 1988 when the team made its first-ever NASCAR start in the Daytona 500.

Over the past ‘25 Winning Years’ Roush Fenway has fielded 17 drivers in the Sprint Cup Series, winning 130 races, two championships and 84 poles. Along the way RFR has turned 856,878 laps, while leading 37,301. In addition the team has posted 703 top-five (23 percent) and 1,243 top-10 (41 percent) finishes in those 2,999 starts.

The team won its first Sprint Cup race on Oct. 22, 1989 at Rockingham Speedway and its 130th Cup race just last weekend in Kansas.

Eight drivers have won for Roush Fenway in the Sprint Cup Series, with Mark Martin (35), Matt Kenseth (24), Carl Edwards (19) and Greg Biffle (18) leading the way.

This weekend Roush Fenway will place three entries in Sunday’s Sprint Cup race at Martinsville, with the first RFR Ford to cross the start-finish line at the green flag marking the team’s 3,000th start in NASCAR’s highest series.

Getting to 3,000 – RFR Starts by Driver


Driver                          Starts (Wins)

Mark Martin                  617 (35)

Matt Kenseth                462 (24)

Greg Biffle                    356 (18)

Carl Edwards                297 (19)

Jeff Burton                    293 (17)

Kurt Busch                   184 (14)

David Ragan                 182 (1)

Ted Musgrave               145

Jamie McMurray           144 (2)

Chad Little                    105

Kevin Lepage                79

Johnny Benson             66

Wally Dallenbach          59

Todd Kluever                4

Ricky Stenhouse           3

Kenny Wallace              2

Dave Blaney                 1


Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved