January 12, 2009 9:22 AM

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. to Run 23rd Annual Chili Bowl

Concord, N.C. (January 12, 2009) – Before hitting the pavement in 2009, Roush Fenway Racing’s up-and-coming driver, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. will make his fifth start this week in the 23rd annual Chili Bowl held in Tulsa, Okla.  Stenhouse, Jr. will race for Don Fike in the Esslinger-powered No. 132 car when he takes to the track for Tuesday’s qualifier race.

“The Chili Bowl is a place where the best drivers come to race,” said Stenhouse from his home in Olive Branch, Miss.  “Everyone from Cruz Pedregon to Tony Stewart, Jason Leffler, Sammy Swindell and all the top USAC drivers are there.  It’s the biggest midget race in the country.  It’s a place where everyone comes to watch some good old fashioned dirt racing.  For the fans it’s awesome, they get to watch champions, veterans and up-and-coming drivers battle it out together.  It would be pretty spectacular to win.  I would definitely be in good company.”

A record 293 cars have been entered for the five-day event that starts on January 13 and concludes Saturday, January 17 at the Tulsa Expo Center.  Stenhouse, Jr. will kick off his week Tuesday, January 13 as he tries to make his way into Saturday’s 50-lap A-main for his chance to be crowned Chili Bowl champion.

“The Chili Bowl is a tough race.”  Stenhouse, Jr. continued, “You have to have a lot of luck and you have to stay out of the crashes.  A lot of people try too hard and they end up wrecking.  Of course that’s the easiest way to pass, is when someone gets impatient and wrecks.  I think we have a fast race car, I just need to be patient and take advantage of situations as they come up.”

Crowds are expected to top 10,000 to watch Stenhouse, Jr. battle some of the greatest names in racing on the famous .25-mile indoor dirt track.  For more information on the Chili Bowl visit  To keep up with Stenhouse, Jr. progress visit

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is NASCAR’s largest team operating nine motorsports teams.  Five in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with drivers Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards and David Ragan; three in the Nationwide Series with Kenseth, Biffle, Edwards, McMurray, Ragan, Erik Darnell, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Colin Braun; and one in the Camping World Truck Series with Braun.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved