October 5, 2012 9:57 AM

Roush Fenway’s Success is Un-restricted at Talladega

Talladega, Ala. (Oct. 5, 2012) – Roush Fenway Racing heads to Talladega for the final restrictor-plate race of the 2012 Sprint Cup season.  In 171 starts at Talladega RFR has three Cup wins dating back to 1995, with the most recent in the fall race of 2009.

RFR first went to Victory Lane in the Cup series on April 30, 1995 with Mark Martin behind the wheel of the No. 6 Ford.  In a race with only two cautions, Martin led 88 laps en route to the organization’s first win at the 2.66-mile superspeedway.

Martin also claimed the second Cup win there on May 10, 1997 in a caution-free race.  That race still holds the record for the fastest race in Talladega Cup history with an average speed of 188.354mph.

The third Cup victory at Talladega came via Jamie McMurray on November 1, 2009 in a race with 60 lead changes.  McMurray led 32 laps before the race ended under caution.

In addition to the three wins, RFR teams have also accumulated 27 top-five and 59 top-10 finishes.  Two RFR drivers finished in the top five in the spring race earlier this year.  Matt Kenseth crossed the finish line third and Greg Biffle in fifth place.

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering motorsport’s first team-focused TV program and its award-winning social marketing campaign Visit, circle on Google+ at +Roush Fenway Racing, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway.

Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved