November 19, 2012 11:19 AM

Stenhouse, Roush Fenway Make it Back-to-Back NASCAR Nationwide Series Championships


Homestead, Fla. (Nov. 17, 2012) – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. turned in a sixth-place finish in Saturdaynight’s Nationwide Series finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway to become Roush Fenway’s first back-to-back NASCAR Champion. Stenhouse scored his second Nationwide Series championship in as many seasons, taking home the crown by 23 points.

“I think this is a bigger one,” said Stenhouse. “The performance was a lot better. It’s always special having that first championship, but when you can back it up and go out the next season and be the car to beat - week in and week out - that makes it really special.”

It marked RFR’s fourth Nationwide Series Championship and its seventh overall driver title in its 25 “Winning Years” (Greg Biffle in 2002, Carl Edwards in 2007 and Stenhouse Jr. in 2011).

Stenhouse finishes hischampionship effort with six wins, 19 top fives, 26 top 10s and four poles. He will make the move up to the Sprint Cup Series in 2013, driving Roush Fenway’s No. 17 Ford Fusion.

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, RoushFenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering motorsport’s first team-focused TV program and its award-winning social marketing campaigns for and “25 Winning Years.” Visit, circle on Google+ at +Roush Fenway Racing, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway.



Follow Roush on

Copyright 2014 Roush Fenway Racing. All Rights Reserved